India, officially the Republic of India (Hindi: भारत गणराज्य, Bhārat Gaṇarājya), is a country in south east Asia.With (2009) inhabitants it is, after china, the country with the most inhabitants worldwide.

India lies on the indian subcontintent and is for the most part a peninsula. In the west and the south it borders the indian oceaan and in the east the Gulf of Bengal. To the north the country borders (from west to east), Pakistan, China (Tibet), Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar and Bangladesh. To the southeast of India in the indian oceaan lies the island state of Sri Lanka, and to the southwest are the Maladiven.

The capital of India is New Delhi but the largest city of the country is Bombay. India is a federal republic divided into 28 states, 6 uniterrtiroies and 1 national capital territory.